themighty logo

Stuck Inside? Come Hang Out With The Mighty Community!

Join The Mighty’s staff and community for a series of events designed to put the SOCIAL in social distancing. We’ve got writing workshops, fun events for kids, interactive Facebook Lives, and more!

Check out our week 3 schedule (3/30-4/3) below!

 

 

Wednesday, April 1

Facebook Live: Rise and Ground: Meditation & Movement

Wednesday, April 1,  10am PT / 1pm ET

Join Katie Rotolo founder of Set Intentions for a grounding meditation and vinyasa movement practice to awaken the body and mind.

How to participate: Go to The Mighty’s Mental Health Facebook Page at 10am PT / 1pm ET to watch the live video. Our live hosts love when you send in comments and questions, so don’t be shy!

 

Video Call: Distract Me Hour

Wednesday, April 1, 11am PT / 2pm ET

Use this hour to take your mind off what you’re going through. Join us on Zoom as we listen to a community-curated playlist and chat in real-time with other Mighties! This event will be hosted by Mighty staff member Kat Harrison!

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 11am PT / 2pm ET.

 

Instagram Live: A Mind & Body Fitness Class

Wednesday, April 1,  12pm PT / 3pm ET

Join The Fitness Cheerleader, who trains clients of all fitness levels while encouraging them to get in touch with how they are feeling physically and emotionally for a mind/body fitness class with a combination of higher intensity exercise, barre movements, and mindfulness, closing out with a brief yoga sequence and meditation. Please bring a yoga mat and light hand weights if you have them.

How to participate: Go to The Mighty’s Instagram at 12pm PT / 3pm ET to watch the live video. Our live hosts love when you send in comments and questions, so don’t be shy!

 

Video Call: Ukulele Class

Wednesday, April 1, 4pm PT / 7pm ET

Come learn “This Land is Your Land” and “Take Me Out to The Ball Game” with Ukulele instructor Daniel Métraux. Download the pdfs ahead of class by clicking on each song in the description.

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 4pm PT / 7pm ET.

 

Thursday, April 2

Video Call: Kid Event: Sing with A Hot MS!

Thursday, April 2, 12pm PT / 3pm ET

Join Singer-Songwriter and MS advocate “A Hot MS” as she guides you to sing through a proper vocal warm-up and breaks down a song to let your inner performer shine! With professional instruction from American Idol Season 11 Vocalist, you too can polish your talent! This event is aimed towards kids but great for anyone who wants to learn more about singing!

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 12pm PT / 3pm ET.

 

Video Call: Adult Event: So you wanna sing?!

Thursday, April 2, 12:30pm PT / 3:30pm ET

Join Singer-Songwriter and MS advocate “A Hot MS” as she guides you to sing through a proper vocal warm-up and breaks down a song to let your inner performer shine! With professional instruction from American Idol Season 11 Vocalist you too can polish your talent! This event is geared towards adults who want to take a professional voice lesson!

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 12:30pm PT / 3:30pm ET.

 

Facebook Live: Let’s Play: Flower!

Thursday, April 2,  3pm PT / 6pm ET

Join live-streaming talk show host Rudy Caseres and participate in an interactive and relaxing play-though of the popular video game Flower.

How to participate: Go to The Mighty’s Main Facebook Page at 3pm PT / 6pm ET to watch the live video. Our live hosts love when you send in comments and questions, so don’t be shy!

 

Instagram Live: Music With A Hot MS!

Thursday, April 2,  5pm PT / 8pm ET

Join Motivational Speaker, Singer-Songwriter and MS advocate “A Hot MS” for some music motivation! She will be going live on our IG to share her story of how she uses her music to empower and encourage warriors of chronic illness and disability. She will also be sharing her latest original song “There’s Always Time”. She has become a voice in the Multiple Sclerosis community and hopes to share her message of strength and positivity. “When you change your perception, you change your reality”- A Hot MS

How to participate: Go to The Mighty’s Instagram at 5pm PT / 8pm ET to watch the live video. Our live hosts love when you send in comments and questions, so don’t be shy!

 

Friday, April 3

Video Call: Breathe and Meditate Workshop

Friday, April 3, 10am PT / 1pm ET

Join Elizabeth Wood, a yoga and meditation teacher, for a workshop offering brief and easy-to-remember breathing and meditation practices. When supported by the practices taught during this workshop, life may seem less stressful and more enjoyable. Meditation experience is not required. She’ll touch on her personal experience with chronic illness and how that led her to incorporate breathing and meditation practices into her daily life.

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 10am PT / 1pm ET.

 

Video Call: Anxiety Masterclass

Friday, April 3, 11am PT / 2pm ET

Join Shauna Quigley, a psychotherapist, founder and director of Wellnessseeker and creator of ‘The Clearing Method’ for an anxiety masterclass. She’ll be discussing her personal journey with anxiety, steps she took to heal and how she uses them in her therapeutic programs, help you understand why Covid-19 is impacting anxiety and more.

How to participate: Go to The Mighty’s Mental Health Facebook Page at 11am PT / 2pm ET to watch the live video. Our live hosts love when you send in comments and questions, so don’t be shy!

 

Video Call: Draw With Me

Friday, April 3, 12pm PT / 3pm ET

Join artist Caitlin Geist and learn how to draw a simple beach scene. Bring a pencil, eraser, paper, and colored pencils or crayons. This event is aimed towards kids but great for anyone who likes to draw!

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 12pm PT / 3pm ET.

 

Video Call: The Power of Pleasure & Cathartic Dance

Friday, April 3, 2pm PT / 5pm ET

Join Sex, Creativity & Empowerment Coach Julia Berryman as she shares how simple pleasures can help you de-stress & soothe your nervous system. She’ll also be leading a cathartic dance process to help you move through & release challenging emotions.

How to participate: Join this Zoom Meeting at 2pm PT / 5pm ET.

More events will be added soon, so be sure to check back.