Melanie Slyker

@melanieslyker
Community Voices

How do you feel about being around family more often right now? #CheckInWithMe

<p>How do you feel about being around family more often right now? <a class="tm-topic-link mighty-topic" title="#CheckInWithMe: Give and get support here." href="/topic/checkinwithme/" data-id="5b8805a6f1484800aed7723f" data-name="#CheckInWithMe: Give and get support here." aria-label="hashtag #CheckInWithMe: Give and get support here.">#CheckInWithMe</a></p>
117 people are talking about this
Community Voices

Child/Teen bucket list suggestions?

My therapist suggested that I try to move on from mourning the loss of my childhood and teen years to abuse and mental illness by indulging my inner child/teen and doing the things I missed out on. So im making that my New Years resolution. The problem is that I’m not exactly sure what should be on it, so far I’ve dyed my hair pink but does anyone have any more suggestions

2 people are talking about this
Community Voices

Goals


#52SmallThings
easy: read more
moderate: continue my healthier eating and exercise routines
difficult: plan my wedding

1 person is talking about this
Community Voices

What were you most proud of?

<p>What were you most proud of?</p>
75 people are talking about this
Community Voices

Trying not to think the worst

#CheckInWithMe After three years of constantly changing meds to balance all my hormone levels, I reached a point where I only need to go to the endo yearly. So, September 11 I went for a pap and tested positive for high risk hpv for the second year in a row. So, on the 10th I go for a colposcopy and possible biopsy. Last Thursday I went for my first mammogram and now have to schedule a follow up because they found an asymmetric density in my right breast. I know both may be nothing to worry about, but I spend about thirteen hours a week driving, so that leaves a lot of time for my brain to run.

Community Voices

Factory work and chronic pain

I have a midline birth defect that went through my pituitary gland. I have panhypopituitarism, which includes growth hormone deficiency and hypothyroidism.

Even though I'm on hormone replacement therapy, I still have chronic fatigue and pain. Most muscle pain and soreness.

I have been working in a factory for over 4 years. I'm required to work 12 days before I can have a day off, and usually work more than that. I also rotate shifts every 6 weeks.

Because I work in a factory, I'm required to wear steel toe shoes. What I do on a daily basis causes me so much pain that I can't do anything after work but rest. The last few weeks have been horrible. I've had no energy and have to rest after simple tasks, like getting dressed.

I decidedto quit my job. I haven't worked since Tuesday and for the first time in a long time I'm almost pain free. And I'm calm.

I may take this opportunity to see if I qualify for disability. But, am also looking to get back into accounting and an office setting
#CheckInWithMe