The 5 Stages of Accepting My Mental Illness Diagnosis

1. Relief 

Once I got my diagnosis for my personality disorder, everything became clear. I understood why I seemed so different, so marginalized. My diagnosis meant a group of people had the same symptoms in the past, and more people with those symptoms will be diagnosed in the future. I was no longer alone. It was no longer my fault.

2. Worry

A lot of worries then started going through my mind. How will people react when I tell them? Will I scare them? What if people will try to change me? Is there a procedure to make me “normal”? I don’t want to be “normal.” Why can’t anyone understand?

3. Anger

I don’t want to have to tell people about my condition unless I want to. People can see I’m different, and sometimes that is scary to them. Sometimes my reaction to this is anger. I hate when people make me feel weird or like a freak. I know I should be educating them, but that’s not my responsibility. I start resenting everyone.

4. Action

I feel the need to express myself about my disorder so people know it’s OK, that I’m OK and that different is OK. Just because I think differently doesn’t mean I need to change. I started writing about my disorder and getting a lot of support. I needed to know there were more open-minded people out there.

5. Moving On

I finally feel I can forgive the people who made me feel horrible about myself, but I do not forget. Everything I learned about people and mental illness will be remembered for future reference. There are a lot of uninformed people out there, but I am willing to forgive their ignorance.

We want to hear your story. Become a Mighty contributor here.

Image via Thinkstock

Find this story helpful? Share it with someone you care about.

Related to Mental Health

Illustration of woman with eyes closed

When I Say ‘I’m Just Tired,’ This Is What It Means

“I’m tired.” “I’m all right, just tired.” “Tired, how are you?” These are the typical responses I give when someone asks me how I’m doing. No one thinks twice about the response because it’s seen as “normal.” An early day at work? Of course she could be tired. I smile and say, “I’m just tired,” [...]
A woman sitting on a couch holding someone's hand

6 Things I Wish I Knew About Being a Social Worker With a Mental Illness

1. Having a mental illness is a unique qualification, not something you need to hide. In 1997, I was diagnosed with depression. This led to other diagnoses: bipolar disorder,  borderline personality disorder (BPD), attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Throughout my teens and early 20s, I was in mental health treatment. When I became [...]
sad young woman sitting by window and looking outside

When You're Battling Mental Illness During the Holiday Season

It’s Thanksgiving, and I have spent the last week trying to mentally prepare myself for this. Since August, I have been in a treatment facility for my mental illness. I haven’t seen my family since they came to see me in the ICU following my last suicide attempt. I wasn’t planning on being home for Thanksgiving. [...]
A t-shirt, a tote bag and a necklace

The Mighty's Gift Guide for Giving Back to the Mental Health Community

Tis the season to be giving gifts, but just because you’re shopping for your family and friends doesn’t mean you can’t support the mental health community too. Here are 10 companies which feature either products created by people living with mental illnesses or use part of their proceeds to support mental health causes. 1. Schizophrenic.NYC  [...]