The Mighty Logo

1.8 Million Boxes of Cheerios Recalled

The most helpful emails in health
Browse our free newsletters

General Mills announced Monday it would be voluntarily recalling boxes of original and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a facility in Lodi, California, during a two-week period in July. The estimated 1.8 million boxes, labeled as gluten-free, contain wheat.

In a statement on Facebook, General Mills wrote:

This recall is a result of an isolated incident where wheat was accidentally introduced into our gluten-free oat system. These products remain safe for those individuals without celiac disease, gluten intolerance or a wheat allergen. This was a mistake, and we sincerely apologize.

boxes of cheerios

Originally published: October 6, 2015
Want more of The Mighty?
You can find even more stories on our Home page. There, you’ll also find thoughts and questions by our community.
Take Me Home