autism acceptance month

Join the Conversation on
autism acceptance month
304 people
0 stories
137 posts
Explore Our Newsletters
What's New in autism acceptance month
All
Stories
Posts
Videos
Latest
Trending
Post
See full photo

What does autism acceptance mean to you?

April is Autism Acceptance Month and today (April 2) is World Autism Awareness Day!

We asked some of the autistic folks in our community to share what autism acceptance means to them. Here are a few of my favorite quotes:

"The thing I want people to know is that we aren't broken. There is absolutely nothing wrong with us. Our brains are wired slightly differently from the neurotypical population, but that doesn't make us any less. We are not failed neurotypicals." — J.R. Reed

"I want people to know that Autism Acceptance Month is a staging point for the rest of the year, we don't just exist for a day or a month. We are here all the time! Acceptance includes accommodations and patience in the workplace and once we have the proper accommodation many of us are able to thrive and achieve so much more than we are given credit for." — B Butcher

"I want people to know that being autistic doesn’t make me any less of a student, employee, spouse, friend, community member, family member, or parent. Being autistic helps me shine in all that I am and do in life. Autism acceptance means I’m able to be authentically myself and the focus is on getting to know me as a whole person rather than trying to cure, fix, change, or hide my autism or any other parts of who I am." — Kris McElroy

What does autism acceptance mean to you?

👋 P.S. Read the full Mighty story here: 13 Autistic People Share What Autism Acceptance Means to Them

#Autism #Neurodiversity #neurodivergent #AutismAcceptanceMonth #WorldAutismAwarenessDay #MentalHealth #CheckInWithMe

13 Autistic People Share What Autism Acceptance Means to Them

"We aren't broken. There is absolutely nothing wrong with us."
27 reactions 4 comments
Post
See full photo

World Autism Awareness Day

April is Autism Acceptance Month and April 2nd is World Autism Awareness Day
#worldautismday2022 #worldautismday2022 #AutismAwareness #AutismAcceptanceMonth #autismacceptancemonth2022 #autismawarenessmonth2022 #autismawarenessmonth #Autism #AutismAwareness #Autism #AutismAcceptance #WorldAutismAwarenessDay #AutismAcceptanceMonth

Post
See full photo

Mighty Virtual Events: Friday, 4/30!

Hear from two brothers as they share their experience with the rare disease von Hippel-Lindau at 11am PT / 2pm ET: https://bit.ly/3gxt7ty

Let's relax with some art and casual conversation, or just come see what we're all about at 1pm PT / 4pm ET: bit.ly/3szXoKs

Finish Autism Acceptance Month with us for an exclusive interview at 3pm PT / 6pm ET: bit.ly/3vzEaGV

#RareDisease #VonHippelLindauSyndrome #selfcare #Art #colorandchat #Autism #AutismAcceptance #AutismAcceptanceMonth

Post
See full photo

Mighty Virtual Events: Monday, April 19!

Join us for a special event for Autism Acceptance Month at 11am PT / 2pm ET: bit.ly/3wSBzt3

Afterwards, build up your toolkit with new resources to support your mental health at 1pm PT / 4pm ET: bit.ly/32b6OBt

End your night with casual conversation and your go-to art project at 4pm PT / 7pm ET: bit.ly/3a7A40l

#Autism #AutismAcceptance #AutismAcceptanceMonth #MentalHealth #colorandchat #Art

2 comments