Leukemia

Join the Conversation on
Leukemia
2.1K people
0 stories
339 posts
About Leukemia
Explore Our Newsletters
What's New in Leukemia
All
Stories
Posts
Videos
Latest
Trending
Post
See full photo

Definitely grieving my loss of energy due to chronic leukemia and mobility due to chronic pain,

Post

Two Books That Really Made Me Think About Life and Mortality

We all have those books that hit us really hard—those books that make us think and have an impact on our lives. Here are two books that did so for me:

1.“The Honest Truth” by Dan Gemeinhart

In all the ways that matter, Mark is a “normal” kid. He's got a dog named Beau and a best friend, Jessie. He likes to take photos and write haiku poems in his notebook. He dreams of climbing a mountain one day. But in one important way, Mark is not like other kids at all. Mark is sick. The kind of sick that means hospitals. And treatments. The kind of sick some people never get better from. So Mark runs away. He leaves home with his camera, his notebook, his dog, and a plan to reach the top of Mount Rainier—even if it's the last thing he ever does. “The Honest Truth” is a rare and extraordinary novel about big questions, small moments, and the incredible journey of the human spirit.

2.“Side Effects May Vary” by Julie Murphy

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school—only to discover she's gone into remission. When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. So she convinces her best friend, Harvey, to help her with a crazy bucket list that's as much about revenge as it is about hope. But just when Alice's scores are settled, she goes into remission, and now she must face the consequences of all she's said and done. Contemporary realistic fiction readers who love romantic stories featuring strong heroines will find much to savor in this standout debut.

#themightyreaders #Cancer

1 reaction
Post
See full photo

New cat!

We have had a stray who has been coming around for about a month or so. We made her a really safe area to protect from the elements and what not for when she wanted to utilize it. She started getting more consistent and friendly, we started feeding her, and now we have another cat! … a pregnant kitty at that.
We took her to the vet so we knew she was safe to bring in (tested negative for FIV and feline leukemia), got the vaccines we could, and brought her in. She is so happy and safe in her new home. She is clean and warm and seems to already be comfortable.
We are going to get her spayed as soon as we safely can after she has her babies. I’m glad she won’t be having them on the street or outside.
Anyone want to guess how many kittens she may have?

#Agoraphobia #PanicAttacks #ChronicVestibularMigraine #Migraine #ADHD #PTSD #PostTraumaticStressDisorder #ComplexPosttraumaticStressDisorder #Anxiety

(edited)
12 reactions 4 comments
Post

I'm new here!

Hi, my name is BabyGirl1986. I'm here because
My son passed away at 23 years old with Acute Myloid Leukemia, diagnosed in April and passed away in September. My heart is broken and my life is shattered, I don't know what I'm supposed to be doing now. #MightyTogether

7 reactions 1 comment
Post

Information, support.

How do you cope with having a family member who has #Leukemia ? How did you feel when you found out?
I found out a family member has it on Thanksgiving this year and I cried a lot. I was also angry and later appreciated that they chose to keep it from me since April when they were diagnosed. Looking back now I know that mentally and emotionally I would not have been able to handle that news. When I first found out I had so many questions and emotions running through me. How do I help them? How painful is it? Is it terminal? How long will this last? How often do they have to go for treatment? Is the treatment painful? Why do they get infections from the ports? Etc., etc... it's endless. I still have little answers to this.

3 reactions 2 comments
Post
See full photo

Benefits of Nutmeg

Did you know nutmeg trees are evergreens? They grow mostly in the Spice Islands of Indonesia.
Nutmeg is a rich source of antioxidants, which help protect against the signs of aging, cancer, heart disease, and liver disease.
Nutmeg has lots of health benefits, including its ability to relieve pain, soothe indigestion, strengthen cognitive function, detoxify the body, boost skin health, alleviate oral conditions, reduce insomnia, increase immune system function, prevent leukemia, and improve blood circulation. Many of us suffer from depression, anxiety or even both. It's always best to aim for natural remedies, and there is no better one than nutmeg. Nutmeg contains myristicin and elemicin, two significant compounds. By working together, they relax your brain and act like a mild sedative. Nutmeg also promotes serotonin and other neurotransmitter production in the brain.
Ancient Romans and Greeks noticed the benefits of nutmeg on the mind right away. They made it into a tonic and drank it to prepare for grueling mental challenges. Nutmeg improves your brain's sharpness and memory capacity.
Having difficulties sleeping at night? Give nutmeg a try. It can work as a natural sedative and calm your body down. Because it's so soothing, you can relax and fall asleep easier than ever. It's a natural sleep aid.
Many experts either advise adding nutmeg to your diet or taking nutmeg-based medicines.
Myristicin is not only useful for battling stress and sharpening your mind. This essential oil that is present in nutmeg allows you to get rid of any joint or muscle pain. This is because it has many anti-inflammatory properties. It doesn't only reduce pain. It also battles swelling, infections and other possible detrimental factors. To get the full effect, use nutmeg oil. Mixing it with coconut oil or olive oil, you get relief from the critical area of any possible pain. Adding a little bit of spice to your cooking might also help. Problems with acne? Nutmeg is another healthy food full of antioxidants. In fact, it's so abundant with them, there aren't many foods that can treat skin conditions better and faster. The antioxidants in nutmeg have multiple ways of battling acne and skin conditions. They prevent free radicals from multiplying too much. Also, inflammation and irritation will be a thing of the past. If you have acne scars, rub a little nutmeg oil into them. They will start being less noticeable on a daily basis.
Nutmeg has many benefits to the digestive tract. From nausea, vomiting, indigestion and bloating, and Crohn's disease – it eliminates everything. Many people face digestion problems because they have a high amount of intestinal juice. The essential oils lower the concentration of juice. Some studies have also shown that nutmeg is an excellent fast-acting solution for diarrhea. It brings the colon and the esophagus back to normal.
Nutmeg also has incredible antibacterial properties. Tooth decay happens by neglecting to clean food particles from your mouth. Those particles attract bacteria, which can infect your mouth. Nutmeg has a strong antibacterial effect. On consuming it, all those bacteria will go in a matter of minutes. You can also eat a bit in the morning. It’s excellent for preventing bad breath.
Nutmeg is full of nutrients. Add antioxidants to that, & you get an efficient system against diseases & infections. Antioxidants are important. They prevent free radicals from spreading & reduces infection. Potassium, calcium, & iron are also key ingredients.
Thinking about adding nutmeg to your diet? No more than a half teaspoon daily is recommended.

25 reactions 8 comments
Post

I'm new here!

Hi, my name is Tammy1054. I'm here because you can lose your job for not being ABLE TO "keep up at work" CHRONIC LEUKEMIA SUCKS

#MightyTogether #Depression #Cancer Cancer#Cancers

9 reactions 4 comments